Friday, September 21, 2018

AFT Awards: Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

This is the eighth category of the 12th Annual AFT Television Awards, my personal choices for the best in television during the 2017-2018 season. This year, I’m including a shorter list, with just nominees and a few finalists, if applicable. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Last year’s nominees: Fiona Dourif, Jade Eshete, Jayma Mays, Yvonne Orji, Sherri Shepherd

Emmy nominees: Zazie Beetz, Alex Borstein, Aidy Bryant, Betty Gilpin, Leslie Jones, Kate McKinnon, Laurie Metcalf, Megan Mullally

Finalists: Betty Giplin (GLOW), Izzie Steele (Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency), Yvonne Orji (Insecure), Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Marin Hinkle (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Nasim Pedrad (People of Earth)

The nominees:

Kathleen Rose Perkins (Episodes)
Sara Gilbert (Roseanne)
D'Arcy Carden (The Good Place)
Liv Hewson (Santa Clarita Diet)

The winner:

Jane Levy (There’s Johnny) was a singular force for comedy and drama in a show that didn’t always jump out with enthusiasm, committing tremendously to the role just as her character commits tremendously to her thankless work.

Next up: Best Guest Actor in a Drama Series

No comments: