Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Emmy Winner Predictions: Best Writing for a Drama Series

Nominees are listed in alphabetical order by show. Beware of minor spoilers for listed episodes.

Thomas Schnauz, Better Call Saul (Bad Choice Road)
Gordon Smith, Better Call Saul (Bagman)
Peter Morgan, The Crown (Aberfan)
Chris Mundy, Ozark (All In)
John Shiban, Ozark (Boss Fight)
Miki Johnson, Ozark (Fire Pink)
Jesse Armstrong, Succession (This Is Not for Tears)

Schnauz and Smith each have two previous nominations in this category for their same show and, in Schnauz’s case, for “Breaking Bad” also. Morgan has two previous nominations, both for “The Crown.” Shiban was nominated back in 1997 for “The X-Files.” Armstrong is the defending champion in this category, winning last year. Shows with multiple nominations in this category do tend to win frequently, which happened most recently in 2014.

What should win: I think I would choose “Bad Choice Road” but I’m a fan of all of these except for “All In” and “Boss Fight.”
What will win: There’s no reason to expect that Succession won’t repeat here.

No comments: