Monday, September 21, 2020

AFT Awards: Best Lead Actor in a Drama Series

This is the first category of the 14th Annual AFT Television Awards, my personal choices for the best in television during the 2019-2020 season. This year, I’m including a shorter list, with just nominees and a few finalists, if applicable. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them.

Best Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Last year’s nominees: Diego Luna, Richard Madden, Bob Odenkirk, Billy Porter, J.K. Simmons

Emmy nominees: Jason Bateman, Sterling K. Brown, Steve Carell, Brian Cox, Billy Porter, Jeremy Strong

Finalists: Aaron Paul (Westworld), Sterling K. Brown (This Is Us), Jeremy Strong (Succession), Jason Bateman (Ozark), Brian Cox (Succession), Ioan Gruffudd (Liar)

The nominees:

Ben Kingsley (Perpetual Grace, LTD)
Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)
Billy Porter (Pose)
Rami Malek (Mr. Robot)

The winner:

Tobias Menzies (The Crown) conveyed a deep dissatisfaction with the inflexible nature of a tremendous amount of power, showing Prince Philip’s extraordinary passion for a life he felt he missed out on living.

Next up: Best Lead Actress in a Drama Series

No comments: