Friday, July 8, 2022

Emmy Predictions: Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards nominations will be announced on Tuesday, July 12th. As always, chime in below in the comments with any thoughts of your own.

Last year’s nominees: Carl Clemons-Hopkins, Brett Goldstein, Brendan Hunt, Nick Mohammed, Jeremy Swift, Paul Reiser, Kenan Thompson, Bowen Yang

The competition: Everyone from last year except for Reiser is eligible, making for an insanely crowded category. Defending champion Brett Goldstein (Ted Lasso) will be back for sure, and he may be accompanied by Nick Mohammed (Ted Lasso), Brendan Hunt (Ted Lasso), and Jeremy Swift (Ted Lasso) again, and there’s a case for other costars like Cristo Fernandez (Ted Lasso) and Toheeb Jimoh (Ted Lasso) to join them given the insane popularity of the show. Carl Clemons-Hopkins (Hacks) might also be joined - or even replaced - by Paul W. Downs (Hacks). It’s likely that Kenan Thompson (Saturday Night Live) and Bowen Yang (Saturday Night Live) will be back, and Pete Davidson (Saturday Night Live) is also a possibility. Looking to previous nominees who are newly eligible, Anthony Carrigan (Barry), Henry Winkler (Barry), Stephen Root (Barry), Brian Tyree Henry (Atlanta), and Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) could easily all return. Other possibilities on the cusp of a nomination before include Harvey GuillĂ©n (What We Do in the Shadows) and LaKeith Stanfield (Atlanta), and it’s important not to count out Taika Waititi if his show performs well. Past winner Luke Kirby (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) is now eligible in this category, and I’d also watch out for a very funny man who has yet to be nominated, Ben Schwartz (The Afterparty). And then there’s Freddie Stroma (Peacemaker), who could easily show up here if his show is well-received by voters, and a more natural choice, Brandon Scott Jones (Ghosts).

The predicted nominees: Carrigan, Downs, Goldstein, Henry, Jones, Stroma, Winkler, Yang

The predicted winner: I think Goldstein wins again.

Next up: Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

No comments: